Tags

, ,

I have just started exploring the world of HDR or HDRI – High Dynamic Range Imaging.

I think we have all seen images that have been done using this technique, but never realized what it was. The images stand out from others because there is a more “dynamic” range between the lightest and the darkest areas of the image.

The method I tried was using three separate images, taken at high speed, of the same object. Before taking the pictures, the camera is adjusted to bracket the pictures. One being over exposed, one at normal light, and one being underexposed. The three images are combined during processing for what we hope is a “dynamic” image.

I think to truly get that dynamic image, more than three images should be taken and then combined during processing. That will be my next lesson.

Here are two of my attempts. They don’t pop the way I have seen these types of pictures pop, but you can see that the potential is there.

Image

Image

ImageImageImage

ImageImageImage

The world of digital photography seems to be endless, and although my journey hasn’t been long, I am enjoying all the new discoveries.

